Breaking Chains

This week the Bible Study I am in What Happens When Women Say Yes to God challenges us to write about making the decision to be set free by applying the powerful truth of God’s Word to whatever has been holding us captive.

I have been held captive by not using my time wisely. Scripture says this about using our time wisely “Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise bus as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.” Ephesians 5:15-16 I think a lot of people can relate with not using their time wisely. I know have been acting foolishly by spending too much time checking emails, statuses on Facebook, and watching t.v. Because of this I am then behind schedule and not able to do all that I have to get done so we have to rush and then of course nothing goes as planned and I come unglued!

The root of my problem is laziness and selfishness. I really don’t want to clean my house so I get distracted elsewhere. And I am exhausted so watching t.v. with my family is a much easier choice then doing whatever I need to do. Scripture says this about selfishness; “For where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there will be disorder and every vile practice.” James 3:16 Oh my, can I attest to the disorder!!! That is my home right now!!! God warns us about our selfishness and tells us the price is disorder but I obviously have not heeded His warning and I know I am not alone in this.

But I want to be obedient and I want a home of order and peace! Peace is a fruit of the spirit that believers should have if they are obedient (Galatians 5:22-23) and obviously I am not being obedient in some areas so this is something I do not have.

So what is keeping me from peace, and order? Me! After living like this for so long I am getting in my way. This way of life has become a bad habit to break. How can I break it? Not on my own! I must turn to the Lord for strength when I am too exhausted to go on and that sofa with my family lounging looks so good and seems to be screaming my name (or the computer) ! I can turn to Christ for strength (Philippians 4:13) and “Destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ” 2 Corinthians 10:5.

This is what I need to do as soon as Satan puts those thoughts in my head that are going to lead me to a decision that will take away my peace and order. Then I can truly break the chains of my captivity.

Is Satan holding you in bondage today? God’s word is our sword (Ephesians 6:17) against Satan. We need to be reading it and memorizing it so when Satan attacks we are ready with our sword to attack. Why not start breaking those chains today!

a href=”http://proverbs31.org/online-bible-studies/current-study/” target=”_blank”>Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Studies

One thought on “Breaking Chains

  1. Thank you for sharing your heart. Your words could have come from my mouth. The Lord has been dealing with me lately about my time wasting. I complain that I don’t have enough time to get everything done that I need to, yet I waste so much of it doing what feeds my flesh – checking e-mails, reading Facebook, watching TV – sound familiar? He’s been showing me that those are a sign of my hunger for connection and interaction, a soul hunger that can only be satisfied with His presence. So, I’ve decided to seek Him more in those times I want to turn aside and be distracted by the world, and I know I’ll begin to lose my hunger for time wasters. – Debbie K. OBS Small Group Leader

Leave a Reply

