#yestogod

Ladies six years ago I got a glimpse of eternity as I said yes to what God asked me to do.
My husband and I had been listening for months to our Pastor preach on missions and how we are to be obedient and go and the Lord started tugging on our hearts. We attended a missions conference at our church and the tug kept getting stronger and stronger. Finally one night in the van on the way home from church we both looked at each other and at the same time asked the other if we were feeling like God had been speaking to them through our Pastor and wanted us to be missionaries. The answer was yes.

God had been working in both our hearts and we didn’t even know it. This was our first step next we told our church and then had the job of getting ready to leave our family and church family and in our mid 30’s with three kids and one on the way pack up and move to Kentucky to go to Seminary.

The past six years has been a roller coaster of emotions and the past four years at Seminary has been some of the loneliest and most difficult years of our lives. Satan has been attacking us constantly through exhaustion and through insecurity. Satan continually feeds me lies that I cannot serve the Lord because I don’t have it together in my daily life and if anyone saw how I ran my house and came unglued with my family they would never allow me to become a missionary. Satan does not want anyone to come to Christ so when you say yes to God be ready!

This is when I cling to God’s word! “That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:10 God can use anyone for Him to be glorified! And I remember all His blessings and His provision for us daily.

Saying yes to God is not easy but I praise God that He asked us to serve Him and I thank Him for the strength He gives us when it gets hard. What we suffer for Christ is nothing compared to His sacrifice for our salvation! Remember that when you are struggling and the Devil is roaring like a lion ready to devour you.

Thank God He doesn’t ask us to do anything that He won’t equip us to do. This should encourage us not to be fearful or insecure. What joy it is to serve the Lord!!

4 thoughts on “#yestogod

  1. Thanks for sharing!! Wow, that is a lifestyle change for you and your family, but how amazing that both you and your husband heard the call at the same time. Blessings as you continue on your journey!!

    Kris Danko (OBS Small Group Leader)

Leave a Reply

